The Smithy Art Gallery - 51 Pioneer St, Cooperstown, NY
Gallery hours: Tue. - Sat. 10 to 5, Sun. 12 to 5
On Closer Inspection runs from May 27th through June 29th
The Smithy Pioneer Gallery is the oldest building in Cooperstown. It was built by the village founder, Judge William Cooper, in 1786 to serve as a blacksmith shop for the infant settlement. Its forges, anvil stands, bellows, tools, the smoke-shadows of horseshoes and other features remain. A second and third floor were added to house a carriage repair shop and what is now the oldest surviving Masonic Hall with original paint in New York State.
Presently, the Smithy serves as a seasonal gallery, showcasing the work of both contemporary and traditional regional artists. During the summer season, the Smithy draws large crowds to three receptions to open twelve shows featuring work by over seventy-five artists.
Because the Smithy has recently developed into a full-fledged multi-arts center, the gallery and its adjoining courtyard are also the site for a variety of concerts, film screenings, theatrical productions, storytelling, and other community arts events.